the life and thoughts of a shoe addict

Shoe Challenge No.20

Wow! This is already my 20th Shoe Challenge! If I continue at this pace, hopefully I can save all my beloved shoes! The weather forecast said today was the last nice and warm day of the week, so I decided on saving one of those many strictly good-weather-only-shoes…one the one hand, I’m sad the weather will be colder again, but then again the rain will wash all the horrible pollen out of the air – I’ve already had hay fever the last few days!!!

Shoes One Miu Miu LookalikeShoes: Shoes One
Worn with: Jeans by Seven, top by H&M, cardigan by H&M, bag by Prada.

Let me say at first, in case you’re wondering: No, these shoes are not the real Miu Miu ones (unfortunately!). I know, I know, copies are not good, but since I couldn’t get my hands on a real pair anywhere and wanted needed these too much, I couldn’t resist when I read about this “alternative” on the two blogs  Shoe Daydreams (contra) and Pink Haired Princess (pro). On this matter, I agree with Pink Haired Princess: The label in the shoes says Shoes One, so while the design is 100% copied and cannot be called “inspired by”, they’re at least not trying to pass off as real Miu Miu’s, and I also would tell anyone who asks me they aren’t real ones. Well, everyone has to decide for themselves on this matter! I just think brands should stop producing so super-limited quantities of items that popular!

Shoes One Miu Miu Lookalikes

With this topic out of the way, on to the outfit! I decided to pair them with a simple outfit so they would really stand out … and stand out they did! I couldn’t even count how many people turned around to stare at them. As many people here tend to wear simple or sensible shoes or just plain sneakers they must have been quite a sight, even though they are not the craziest pair in my collection 😉  Maybe, hopefully it will inspire more people here to wear different shoes!

And last but not least, some pictures of another decorated rollcake (actually from yesterday, but I wasn’t wearing any shoes then – just relaxing in the garden!) . This time I made it 100% Japanese style following the book instructions – the time before I had used the ordinary German rollcake recipe – and it turned out really nice. I want to make another one soon!

Decorated Rollcake

It was filled with cream, strawberries and blueberries  – so it was really healthy (at least a little bit 😉 )

Decorated Rollcake

Comments on: "Shoe Challenge No.20" (2)

  1. I think you are right, that as long as the shoe is not trying to say they are a Miu Miu it is perfectly alright. Some copies are really cute and you save a ton of money. I especially like these.
    Also, once again I adore your cute roll cake. Are they hard to make? It looks like it would be. It just makes me smile to look at it!

    • Thank you! The roll cake is actually not very difficult to make, it just takes a little time. I guess you could take any recipe for roll cake, make the dough and then take a little part of it and colour it. With the coloured dough, you pipe the strawberry’s red part onto the baking paper (it should be slightly oiled so the dough wont stick onto it after baking) and put it into the preheated oven (170°C) for about one minute and then you can just spread the regular dough above it and bake it as usual. The prebaking will keep the strawberry shape from mixing with the other dough. After baking, remove the baking paper and cut off the edges. When the cake is finished (for the filling, you can take either just a nice marmalade or whipped cream with sugar + fruits) you can paint on the dots using cocoa powder dissolved in a bit of water or chocolate and then paint on the green leaves with green food colour or matcha (jap. green tea) powder dissolved in water.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

